Thursday, June 14, 2007

Who will take home the hardware?

Alright, the NHL Awards ceremony airs tonight at 4:30 PM pst. Here are the nominees, and my picks for the winners. Who are your picks?
I will update this as the Awards show goes on.

1. Sidney Crosby
2. Roberto Luongo
3. Martin Brodeur

My pick: Crosby by a landslide. Settle down, Luongo-lovers!
Actual: CROSBY. Youngest player to win it since Gretzky.

LESTER B PEARSON AWARD(Most outstanding player as voted by the NHLPA)
1. Sidney Crosby
2. Vincent Lecavalier
3. Roberto Luongo

My pick: Crosby of course.
Actual: CROSBY

1. Evgeni Malkin
2. Jordan Staal
3. Paul Stastny

My pick: Malkin. If Stastny would have come alive earlier in the year....
Actual: MALKIN

FRANK J SELKE TROPHY (Top defensive forward)
1. Rod Brind'Amour
2. Sammy Pahlsson
3. Jay Pandolfo

My pick: tough one. I'll say Brind'Amour.

1. Lindy Ruff
2. Michel Therrien
3. Alain Vigneault

My pick: I'm not sure how much fits the criteria here, but Alain Vigneault took a mediocre, half-assed Canucks team from 2 seasons ago, and made the current team believe in his system. It paid off huge. For pulling off a Christ-like miracle, I'd say Vigneault gets it.

1. Niklas Lidstrom
2. Scott Niedermayer
3. Chris Pronger

My pick: Given Detroit's success this season (in a shitty division even), and Lidstrom's ability to rack up the points like he still can and play superb in his own zone, he is my pick.

1. Pavel Datsyuk
2. Joe Sakic
3. Martin St. Louis

My pick: I haven't been able to see St. Louis a lot this year. So who is the bigger gentleman? Who is the nice guy? I'll take Sakic.

1. Martin Brodeur
2. Roberto Luongo
3. Miikka Kiprusoff
4. Henrik Lundqvist

My pick: A tough call between Brodeur and Luongo. I have to go with Brodeur here. His stats this season are sick. 12 shutouts to Luongo's 6??? Yowza.



At June 14, 2007 at 3:51 p.m. , Blogger James said...

I'm with you for everything except Veniza.. I say Luongo takes that. Shutouts aside there were stretches where Marty was good but not *great*. Luongo was great 98.5% of the time.

The only reasons I could see Marty taking it is based on 1) reputation or 2) east coast bias.

I had both of these guys in my hockey pool this year and cruised to an easy victory thanks to them!

At June 14, 2007 at 4:00 p.m. , Blogger Zanstorm said...

Luongo was not great 98.5% of the time, IMO. I lost count how many times he'd let the first shot in.

At June 14, 2007 at 5:56 p.m. , Anonymous Temujin said...

No doubt Vignault earned the JAck Adams. It may be easier to coach a team with Luongo in net, but it takes a great leader to get a nely assembled team to play a system and stick with it. The Canucks were outstanding from Christmas until April and Viggy's coaching was a big part of the reason. Rewarding the hard-workers and benching the slackers:

Pure Genius!

At June 14, 2007 at 6:47 p.m. , Blogger Zanstorm said...

Way to go Viggy!!
Now, will Louie win the Vezina????

At June 14, 2007 at 10:38 p.m. , Blogger James said...

You called it with the Vezina!

I thought Luongo had a definite chance.. He really should have won it, I suspect all the east coasters doing the voting was the reason. Hell, Kipprusoff and Fuhr are the only two goaltenders who have won it west of Chicago!

I bet even Marty would not consider this year to be a true Vezina year..

At June 15, 2007 at 12:02 a.m. , Blogger Zanstorm said...

I saw Marty look human a few times, but I also saw him look outstanding and much better than Luongo.

Why wasn't there even a whisper of Ryan Miller?


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

Waiting For Stanley was created in June 2006.